Skip to content

DIY Needle Project

January 18, 2008

O.k. not exactly, totally DIY. More like a DIY modification. I bought an 11 pair set of straight bamboo needles on eBay, but I didn’t read the listing carefully, because they were 13 inchers. I would have bought the anyway because I got them for so cheap. I need more bamboos b/c I’m flying at the end of the month and I read that bamboo needles are more likely to go through security.

DSCF1145.JPG

When I unwrapped them, I started to wonder if I could shorten them. So I pulled at the caps of one pair, and with a little bit of work, they came right off.

So I gathered my tools: a tape measure, a pair of PVC pipe cutters, pencil, wood glue, and paper plate.

DSCF1146.JPG

I measured and marked the needles. Snapped of the excess with the cutters.

DSCF1147.JPG

Dipped the ends in wood glue and stuck them back on.

DSCF1148.JPG

Viola! It took all of about 8 minutes, including gathering the supplies and camera. I’m not going to cut them all yet, but wait and see what I need and cut them if needed, as needed.

DSCF1150.JPG

Thanks to my husband for having all his tools in the dining room, where I could easily find the cutters and wood glue. ; { It made the project go so much faster.

From → Make

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

